

Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting of GAABESU held on Saturday, 27th July, 2019 at 05.00 p.m. at the Alumni Seminar Hall, IIEST, Shibpur.

Members present: Members were present physically and via webex (online) as per list attached.

The meeting started at scheduled time 5 pm with President Achyut Ghosh in the Chair. President conducted the meeting with Working President Pratik Datta, Secretary Somnath Sinha Roy, Treasurer Arabinda Ray and the Election Commission Chairman Syama Prasad Datta on the dias and started the 12th Annual General Meeting. In the meeting, number of members present, physically, through proxy and through online, formed Quorum, as per MoA.

The Items of Agenda for the Meeting were as follows:

- 1. Welcome address;
- 2. To receive, consider and confirm the proceedings of the 11th Annual General Meeting;
- 3. To receive, consider and adopt the Annual Report of the Executive Committee for 2018-19;
- 4. To receive, consider and adopt the Audited Accounts for the year 2018 19;
- 5. To appoint an Auditor and fix his/her remuneration for the year 2019-20;
- 6. To declare the result of the general election by the Election Commissioners;
- 7. To consider any other item(s) with permission of the chair;
- 8. Vote of Thanks;

Agenda wise minutes of the meeting are given below.

AgendaNo.1: Welcome address;

President Achyut Ghosh welcomed the members present in the AGM. In his address, he explained the current situation regarding interaction with the Institute Administration to the present members and hoped that under a new leadership, the situation would improve.

GAABESU, University Guest House, IIEST, Shibpur, P.O. Botanic Garden, West Bengal, India, 711103

+91 (33) 2668 7436 / 4564
facebook.com/gaabesu

gaabesu@gmail.com twitter.com/gaabesu www.gaabesu.in linkedin.com/groups/2529987

Registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act, 1961. S/1L/29880 of 2005-2006



AgendaNo.2: To receive, consider and confirm the proceedings of the 11th Annual General Meeting;

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting was circulated earlier to the members through e-mail. Secretary Somnath Sinha Roy readout the Minutes of 11th AGM and requested members for any comment. In absence of any comment, Kaustav Biswas proposed and Prosenjit Chakraborty seconded for acceptance of the minutes. The minutes of the 11th AGM was then confirmed and accepted by the house.

AgendaNo.3: To receive, consider and adopt the Annual Report of the Executive Committee

for 2018-19;

President requested the Secretary to read the Annual Report for the year 2018-2019. Secretary, read out the list of our deceased alumni, and expressed condolences on behalf of the Executive Committee as well as the Alumni of this Institute. The members observed one-minute silence in memory of the deceased Alumni.

Then he placed the Annual Report on the activities of GAABESU for the period of August 2018 to July 2019. The session was interactive and some members shared their opinion. Aloke Ranjan Bhunia raised few questions about Scholarship programme, Travel Grant, any Seminar held in the tenure of EC6, Alumni Day etc. which were duly noted and responded. There were some discussions on Emergency Fund donation and its utility. It was explained that any alumni can ask for financial help to GAABESU. It was observed that of late, only a few alumni donated and some donors donated repeatedly. Because of many such appeals raised in a year, the responses are getting lukewarm day after day. Biman Ghosh suggested that the donation appeals be addressed directly to respective passout-batches. Batch sentiments may work there. Biswarup Saha informed that these are stretching the capacities of the organization and it would be better if some decision is made in the AGM for Emergency Fund. Pratik Dutta suggested that the Emergency Fund should be for GAABESU Members only. Why should an alumnus become a GAA member whereas all alumni get all benefits? He also suggested to document the Emergency Fund guidelines and circulate the process document to all and take the decision. Sukanta Roy proposed it for GAA members only. Santanu Karmakar told that Emergency Fund is the financial assistance for medical emergency of all alumni, he requested to collect the views from all members and work on it. Syama Prasad Datta asked that GAABESU have taken all the suggestions and we should take all note of things. President Achyut Ghosh concluded that GAABESU shall have to give preference to members and will redraft the Emergency Fund process document. After all discussions the Annual report was adopted by the members present.

Agenda No. 4: To receive, consider and adopt the Audited Accounts for the year 2018 – 19;

Treasurer was requested to present the Audited Report on Accounts, which was circulated to all the members earlier. Since the report was already with the members, Treasurer requested the members present to provide their comments. There were some discussions on the use of various funds maintained by GAABESU. Treasurer will follow all such requirements, as transpired from his meeting with IT Department officials as well as our Auditor. In absence of any other specific comments, the Audit Report was accepted and approved by the House.

Agenda No. 5: To appoint an Auditor and fix his/her remuneration for the year 2019-20;



Secretary placed the recommendation of the Executive Committee to nominate M/s A. Dasgupta & Associates Chartered Accountants as Auditor of GAABESU Accounts for the financial years 2019-20. The House unanimously accepted the recommendation.

Agenda No.6: To declare the result of the general election by the Election Commissioners;

President Achyut Ghosh requested Syama Prasad Datta, Chairman of the Election Committee to declare the Election result of Executive Committee (EC7). Syama Prasad Datta said that total 1789 no. of Ballots were sent to the GAABESU Members individually at their valid email ID registered in the GAABESU membership database. 224 emails were bounced back. After that 70 emails were corrected based upon input from many sources and again Ballots were sent to the respective members. He requested all to correct their email ID or their friends email ID for a fair election. 43 Ballots were sent by speed post to the members who have no email ID. 16 Ballots come back from the postal department for wrong address. 4 postal Ballots were received by post. The election commission decided earlier that if any ballot received after scheduled date by post, they would accept. Syama Prasad Datta said that total 259 valid filled up ballots were received from the GAABESU members. Then he declared 27 names of the Executive Committee. The names are given below:

All EC6 members and present members congratulated the new EC7 members.



Agenda No. 7: To consider any other item(s) with permission of the chair.

Some members suggested online voting for election and verification of valid email ID is also important. Election commission accepted the suggestions and will definitely improve it, they will convey the work to the next EC members.

Agenda No.8: Vote of Thanks;

Working President Pratik Dutta thanked all present Alumni for participation in the meeting. He requested all to attend Alumni Day which would be held on the last Sunday of the year.

The 12th Annual General Meeting at the Alumni Seminar Hall ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Sitansu Sekhar Ghosh) Secretary EC 7, GAABESU